Register now for the Civically Engaged Professionals' Retreat

The 2017 CCMA Civically Engaged Professionals' Retreat will be on Friday, August 4th at the University of Maryland, Baltimore. The day will be an opportunity for community engagement coordinators, directors, and other staff to share ideas and learn from others. Round tables will be focused on various topics from the new book The Community Engagement Professional in Higher Education. Books will also be available for purchase for $10.

Register here

Welcome 2017-2018 CCMA AmeriCorps VISTAs!

We are excited to welcome our new cohort of 2017-2018 Campus Compact Mid-Atlantic VISTAs! Read more about each CCMA AmeriCorps VISTA and the projects where they are serving on our CCMA AmeriCorps VISTA Abstracts and Bios page.

University of Delaware and Community College of Baltimore County join CCMA

2017 Newman Civic Fellows

Campus Compact is pleased to announce the 273 students who will make up the 2017 cohort of Newman Civic Fellows. The Newman Civic Fellowship is a one-year fellowship for community-committed college students from Campus Compact member institutions. The fellowship honors the late Frank Newman, one of Campus Compact’s founders and a tireless advocate for civic engagement in higher education. Maryland-DC Campus Compact is excited to congratulate the following 17 Fellows from Maryland and DC:

American University - Taylor Dumpson
Georgetown University - Derrick Little
The George Washington University - Adam Graubart
Carroll Community College - Danielle Burnham
Chesapeake College - Lareese Cathey
College of Southern Maryland - Elle Williams
Frostburg State University - James Kirk
Goucher College - Hadley Sternberg
Loyola University Maryland - Kassina Dwyer
Maryland Institute College of Art - Valeria Fuentes
McDaniel College - Flor (Jasmin) Chavez Cruz
Morgan State University - Michael Wynder
Stevenson University - Cory Ott
Towson University - Suphitha Phawapoothanon
University of Maryland - Karla Casique
University of Maryland Eastern Shore - Axel Bayingana
University of Maryland, Baltimore County - Sophia Lopresti


The Maryland-DC Campus Compact currently has 26 MDCCC AmeriCorps VISTA positions available across the Maryland-DC region. We are currently recruiting for 1 MDCCC AmeriCorps VISTA Leader and 25 MDCCC AmeriCorps VISTA members. Visit our project abstracts to learn more and apply!

2017 Award Nominations Open

The 2017 MDCCC award nominations are now open! The Maryland-DC Campus Compact annually recognizes excellence relating to leadership in civic and community engagement, early and career scholarship, student groups, campus-community partnerships, and civic and institutional leadership. We recognize students, faculty, administrators, institutions, and community leaders. Nominations are due June 9, 2017.

Register here!

For past news, check our archives.